Help Guide

Save Data: Allows data in the current sheet to be saved in the database server

Refresh Data: Retrieves data for all the changes from the database server

Owner: The person who initiates the collaboration. He/She emails the work book to the intended audience

Collaborator(s):  These are the team member(s) to whom the Owner has emailed the work book.

History: Diamond Lane automatically keeps track of every change made by the Owner and Collaborator. So the user can view/review the sequence of changes.

When you open the MS EXCEL document after installing Diamond Lane, you will see the menu item below:

When you click on Diamond Lane menu, the following ribbon shows up.

This function is mandatory to access the server (either for storing or refreshing data) as well as to gain ownership of the EXCEL workbook. Registration process is very simple – Enter your name, email and establish a password. Once you are registered login requires only email and password. 

During Registration, each field is individually validated as all fields are mandatory. 

Following Password Complexity is enforced:

  • Password should contain minimum of 8 characters
  • Password should have at least one UPPER CASE character
  • Password should have at least one lower case character
  • Password should have at least one numeric character
  • Password should have at least one special character
  • Password should not repeat characters
  • Password should be different from the user name

Once all fields are correctly entered, the OK button is enabled as shown below to complete the registration:

You are advised to log in whenever you open a new spreadsheet or save data on the server or refresh from the server.

This feature is the cornerstone of Diamond Lane collaboration. The work book owner can initiate collaboration by a click of the SHARE button. The outlook client will be automatically opened with pre-filled Subject, Message Text and attachment. The user needs to simply fill in the email addresses and press send.

In the event of users are using other email clients, then Diamond Lane will allow the pre-filled message text to be copied to the clipboard for pasting on the email. The user can open the email, paste the message, attach the work book, fill in the emails and send it out for collaboration.

When the Save option is selected, the following happens:

  • The first time Save is selected, all spreadsheet data is saved on the server.
  • From the second save onwards, only incremental changes are submitted to the server.

For the spread sheets that require collaboration, you can save the data on a server and then share the workbook. The data is stored in the cloud or inside the enterprise depending on the configuration suggested by your IT.  The data once stored on the server allows updates from your team worldwide.

Diamond Lane uses fully secured, transaction chained, time series based block chain database to allow seamless Excel collaboration. Press on the “save data to server” button when you are ready.  This saves your data locally as well as on the server. If any of your cell values are overwritten, then you will see a comment icon on the cell detailing the values.

If you are not already logged in the “LOGIN” dialog will be displayed. Once you enter the credentials a progress bar will be displayed that shows the data saving progress.

A “PROGRESS BAR” is displayed when the data is sent to server. This ensures that user is aware of the action being performed.

When the ‘Refresh’ option is selected,  the following happens:

  • The first time Refresh is selected, all spreadsheet data is refreshed from the server.
  • From the second refresh onwards, only incremental changes are refreshed from the server.

For the spreadsheets that need collaboration, you can save the data on a server and then share the workbook. The data is stored in the cloud or inside the enterprise depending on the configuration suggested by your IT.  The data once stored on the server allows updates from your team worldwide.

Diamond Lane uses fully secured, transaction chained, time series based block chain database to allow seamless Excel collaboration. Press on the “save data to server” button when you are ready.  This saves your data locally as well as on the server. If any of your cell values are overwritten, then you will see a comment icon on the cell detailing the values.

If you are not already logged in the “LOGIN” dialog will be displayed. Once you enter the credentials a progress bar will be displayed that shows the data saving progress.

When the ‘Refresh’ option is selected, the following happens:

  • The first time Refresh is selected, all spreadsheet data is refreshed from the server.
  • From the second refresh onwards, only incremental changes are refreshed from the server.

For the spreadsheets that need collaboration, you can save the data on a server and then share the workbook. The data is stored in the cloud or inside the enterprise depending on the configuration suggested by your IT.  The data once stored on the server allows updates from your team worldwide.

Diamond Lane uses fully secured, transaction chained, time series based block chain database to allow seamless Excel collaboration. Press on the “save data to server” button when you are ready.  This saves your data locally as well as on the server. If any of your cell values are overwritten, then you will see a comment icon on the cell detailing the values.

If you are not already logged in the “LOGIN” dialog will be displayed. Once you enter the credentials a progress bar will be displayed that shows the data saving progress.

The first window that appears when you click Cell History is the activity period. The activity period is defaulted to PAST WEEK. The date range can be changed by the user.

This, again, is a unique feature of Diamond Lane that leverages transaction chaining. No data is lost and they are time stamped (with date/time and username) and stored. At any time, user can review the cell history to see how, who and when the values were changed. This becomes critical in budgeting or revenue projection or forecasting activities.

This is done not only for the data but for formulae as well.

If the user has been working on a sheet for a long time, it is easy to lose track of the changes made. This feature will highlight all the changes made since the last server save. This check helps to avoid accidental mistakes going to the server.

Once the review is complete user can turn off the highlights.

Even if user decides to turn off the notifications, the Activity Log can be opened on demand to see who all have saved their changes or refreshed from the server.

Notifications provide transparency. User can configure to receive notifications in real time or once a day as a digest. As you collaborate with users in different time zones, this functionality helps you to understand whether you need to refresh and review prior to saving your changes to the server.

The default setting for OWNER is immediate Notification. This can be changed if needed.  When a collaborator logs in for the first time, the Owner is notified regardless of configuration.

Whenever a new sheet is added by the owner, the active collaborators get notified with the Sheet Name. The users can click on “Add Missing Sheets” to bring those sheet(s) for collaboration.

The default setting for the COLLABORATOR is OFF.  It can be configured as per the user’s need.

When the user clicks “show Collaborators”, a window shows up which lists the owner and all the collaborators. The owner can deactivate an existing user or reactivate them as necessary.